Alabama representatives vote 6-1 against "fiscal cliff" bill

MONTGOMERY, Ala. (AP) — All six Republicans in Alabama's House delegation voted against legislation to avoid the fiscal cliff, while the state's lone Democrat voted for it.

Republican U.S. Reps. Jo Bonner, Martha Roby, Mike Rogers, Robert Aderholt, Spencer Bachus and Mo Brooks cast no votes, and Democratic Rep. Terri Sewell voted yes on the legislation that passed 257-167 Tuesday.

“At the end of the day I just couldn’t support – with my one vote – such a flawed process," Bonner said in a statement released after midnight on Wednesday.

Roby said raising taxes without cutting spending goes against her core beliefs. Brooks said it was wrong to rush monumental legislation through Congress without time for the American people to review it.

Bonner added, “There is simply no way Mr. Jefferson, Mr. Madison or our other founding fathers could have ever envisioned having the Senate pass a $4 trillion addition to the debt of our nation at 2 a.m., only to have the House take it up less than 20 hours later and there be no regard for the long-term damage we are doing to America’s future."

Sewell said the bill wasn't perfect, but it extended long-term unemployment benefits and tax cuts for the middle class.

The measure passed the Senate 89-8 earlier Tuesday, with Republican Sen. Richard Shelby voting no and Republican Sen. Jeff Sessions voting yes.

Copyright 2014 AP Modified. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.


Political Pulse

Did you like this article? Vote it up or down! And don't forget to add your comments below!

Like It
Don't Like It


We welcome your thoughtful comments. Be the first to participate in the discussion. All comments will display your username and avatar.


Add a Comment

Sign in or join now to post a comment. All comments will display your username and avatar.


Alabama (change)

Known as the “Heart of Dixie,” Alabama has a population of over 4.6 million residents. Montgomery is the capital city. Other major cities include Birmingham, Mobile, and Huntsville.
Offices & Officials

Governor: Robert Bentley
Lieutenant Governor: Kay Ivey
Attorney General: Luther Strange
State Treasurer: Young Boozer
Secretary of State: Beth Chapman

Contacting the White House and Congress

Click the links below to get in touch with your elected officials.